Coinbase’s Visa Debit Card Expands into Europe, Adds Support for XRP, XLM, BAT, 0x and REP

Crypto adoption is getting wider and wider and now one of the biggest crypto exchanges, Coinbase, has expanded support for five more cryptocurrencies in ten new nations for its Visa debit card.

In a tweet posted on Thursday, Coinbase announced that the five new coins now supported are XRP, Basic Attention Token (BAT), Stellar (XLM), 0x (ZRX) and Augur (REP), allowing users to spend these assets from their respective wallets.

Now, the total number of supported assets on the card has expanded to nine. Previously, the card only offered its users to pay with just four top currencies – BTC, LTC, BCH, ETH.

Shortly after, Coinbase posted another tweet announcing that its Visa Card is now available in ten new countries, including Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Hungary, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Poland, Romania, and Sweden.

The Card was introduced on April 11, and at that time, it was only supported in the UK and EU nations. The card allows Coinbase users to make purchases with digital currencies from their Coinbase accounts. It also supports online transactions, and can also be easily used to withdraw cash from regular ATMs. However, Coinbase will immediately convert the preferred crypto used in the transaction to fiat currency, and charge a fee for cash transactions.

Speaking about the new supports, Zeeshan Feroz, CEO at Coinbase UK, said:

“By more than doubling the number of assets our customers can spend on Coinbase Card, as well as introducing the card to 10 new countries, Coinbase continues to help drive crypto’s role as a utility, and not just an investment.”

According to the firm, the card can be used anywhere that accepts Visa, including internationally. There are fees for ATM transactions above the value of €200 – 1 percent domestically and 2 percent internationally – as well as charges for some purchase transactions, according to its website.


You might also like